The reviews are in (again)

Levitating in a rockery (Mr Briggs' wardrobe supplied by Ede & Ravenscroft)

Levitating in a rockery (Mr Briggs’ wardrobe supplied by Ede & Ravenscroft)

Earlier this month, I enjoyed an afternoon in a gown and mortarboard as I graduated from the University of Nottingham. It was a pleasant break from the work routine – oh, go on then, it was one of my proudest moments of the year – but the change was fleeting and the next day I was back to the 9 to 5. Except it’s more of an 8 to 6 with the travel involved. One upside to this has been that I’m able to devote much more time to reading books I purchased or borrowed in conjunction with a particular bit of research and duly mined without going through the whole thing, start to finish (or as I tend to do jumping around the chapters from most to least interesting). Seeing as how I’m now getting through a book a fortnight, I realised it was high time I revisited my Reviews section and share some of my opinions on some of the newer titles I get through.

The first book up is Sarah Semple’s Perceptions of the Prehistoric in Anglo-Saxon England, published in 2013 but its subject matter is kind of a big deal around these parts and anyway, who’s counting? If I’d thought about this properly, I would have posted the following before Christmas, by way of a Surrey Medieval recommendation of what you might consider buying as a gift for yourself or a loved one. Instead we’re closer to New Year’s Eve than Christmas Day so, unless you have any birthdays in the near future, its usefulness as a potential present guide is pretty limited. What is more, I’m not the biggest fan of the book (at least not in its present form) so there are better volumes to invest your money in.

Have a read of my review (other opinions are available), and keep checking back in the coming weeks – the more I read, the more I review!

About Robert J S Briggs

Back to being a part-time early medievalist; Surrey born, London based, been known to travel
This entry was posted in Anglo-Saxon, Archaeology, Barrows, Books, History, Landscape, Nottingham, Place-Names, Publishing, Religion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

