What a month

I can’t say I’m sad that January is very nearly at an end. I know many people who have tried to adhere to a “Dry January” rule this year, with mixed results, but my month has not been dry in either the alcoholic or the boring sense of the word. I’ll spare you the details of my many and various health issues (none serious – still, thanks be for the NHS) and highlight perhaps the most important development of the year to date – after months of moaning and a steady loss of interest, I bit the bullet and quit my job. At long last I’m free to pursue a number of projects I’ve had in the pipeline, not to mention seizing any completely unanticipated opportunities that come my way as well. Plus, of course, it gives me more time to work on new content for Surrey Medieval.

Twitter summary

One of the projects I’m most excited about is the long-contemplated Surrey Medieval Twitter (@SurreyMedieval – follow me!). It’s going to be a mix of things linking in with stuff on this site as well as decidedly non-medieval bits and pieces. One advantage I foresee in this is the ability to provide news of ongoing projects and new discoveries far quicker than I seem to be able to do via blog posts. Of course this doesn’t mean I’m ditching blogging as an outlet – I struggle to summarise anything in 140 words, let alone the dreaded 140 characters – rather it will allow more information to be disseminated via the most appropriate outlet. There will be no cat videos on either.

While I work on a trio of lengthy pieces, I’ll end this post with a round-up of what’s new on the site. There are two things to be precise: a sidelight to my work on Peper Harow and hearg place-names, and an update to my Thursley paper which has tipped the balance and persuaded me of the need to rewrite the essay for one last time (several months after saying I wouldn’t do it). No doubt there’ll be more to follow in the next few days. Perhaps I’ll tweet about those.

(surreymedieval.blog@gmail.com – not that it’s hard to find on this site’s many pages, but I thought I’d provide a reminder of the address for any comments and queries about things you read on here.)

About Robert J S Briggs

Back to being a part-time early medievalist; Surrey born, London based, been known to travel
This entry was posted in Being organised, Business, internet, News, Peper Harow, Thursley, Twitter. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

