A new year, a new milestone passed

It’s 2013. I can’t decide if last year flew by or was slow and steady. More likely, my memory is not what it used to be and I’m forgetting half of what I did – being newly arrived and unemployed in London with a faint taste of travel to the Orient still in my mouth 12 months ago certainly feels like another lifetime. I have big plans for this year, both in terms of this site and beyond it, and not just in a soon-to-be-broken new year resolution kind of way.

3000 and counting

This weekend Surrey Medieval clocked up its 3000th site visit (thanks to a person unknown in Indonesia – SM seems to be big in South-East Asia). I’d hoped it might happen before 2012 was through but in the end I fell five short. Still, it’s a really gratifying achievement, especially since it doesn’t feel all that long ago since I was waiting to rack up my 2000th visit (Google Analytics is a wonderful yet addictive thing). So thanks to all readers, old, new or repeat. Not that I need any extra encouragement, but knowing people are visiting this site and reading what I write is a great feeling. Here’s to 4000, 5000, more…

Over the latter half of the Christmas period I continued to plug away at things and added a couple of new bits to the site. First up, a completely new piece drawing attention to an unacknowledged reference to the medieval leper hospital in Guildford, proving it was in existence at the very end of the twelfth century, as well as discussing its likely origins and those of the first friary in the town. Second, a post about a link to Nathanael Salmon’s hard-to-find 1736 work Antiquties of Surrey, but which also considers the past, present and future of the field of study known as chorography (no, not choreography). Third and finally, I’ve had to write an addendum to my much lengthier Hebbeshamm study revealing my discovery of philological evidence that means I will have to rewrite a big chunk of the paper. It does weaken the argument as it stands but doesn’t destroy it altogether. Plus, it proves the continued ability of online resources available to all rather than just those with institutional access to turn up new evidence.

Plenty more to follow in the next few days and weeks…

About Robert J S Briggs

Back to being a part-time early medievalist; Surrey born, London based, been known to travel
This entry was posted in Anglo-Saxon, Epsom, Guildford, Hebbeshamm, internet, Lepers, News, Place-Names, Surrey. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

