Stuck in the medieval mind

east horsley

Last weekend’s Medieval Studies Forum meeting on “The Medieval Mind” was, much as I expected, a work-out for the grey matter (in the slightly unlikely setting of a village nursery classroom). The presentations were uniformly excellent – even mine seemed to go well in spite of feeling a mite ill, tired and to be honest hungover. In time I will work up the subject of my talk, a re-evaluation of the early architecture of Compton church, into an essay of sorts, which should see my stock fall further with an adversary I have unwittingly made in recent times thanks to the published version of my recent piece on Thursley (yes, it would appear that even local medieval history can generate animosities). Happily, I made more friends on the day and there is even talk of a group visit in the new year to Compton church to see its many interesting features. For the time being, here’s one of the better pictures I took when I made a preparatory research visit to Compton church a few weeks ago…

IMG_2191

In the weeks before my talk I ordered Charles W Jones’ Saint Nicholas of Myra, Bari and Manhattan but was unable to take it to East Horsley because it did not make it through customs in time. I started reading it this weekend and, from initial impressions, it already ranks both stylistically and content-wise as one of the best books on a medieval subject matter I have come across. Jones’ prose is little short of scintillating, not to mention liberally sprinkled with footnotes (always a big plus in my book) and has an appeal beyond the scholastic. So, seeing as how we’re now well and truly in the run-up to Christmas, why not treat yourself to a copy and find out the real history behind Santa Claus?

About Robert J S Briggs

Back to being a part-time early medievalist; Surrey born, London based, been known to travel
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stuck in the medieval mind

  1. Pingback: It’s Surrey Medieval’s Puttenham Church Week! An introduction to the parish church of St John Baptist | Surrey Medieval

Leave a Reply

