New work (of sorts) – medieval agriculture in Puttenham parish

My book/study/report on Puttenham parish and its landscape is nearly complete; however, this has been the case for years now and, having done no work on it in months, unfortunately it doesn’t looks like I will get the opportunity to change that for some time to come. As such I am keen to find ways of making some of the massive amount of work I have done already more known about and available. My paper on “seven ditches” in effect is a rewrite of one of the work’s appendices, and a talk I am due to give to the Puttenham & Wanborough History Society at the end of March will draw upon the content of another. Rediscovering the PowerPoint I put together to illustrate a talk I gave to the Surrey Archaeological Society’s Medieval Studies Forum in November 2010 on the difficulties in piecing together a picture of medieval agriculture in the parish spurred me to upload it and write some explanatory notes. Both can be read here.

About Robert J S Briggs

Back to being a part-time early medievalist; Surrey born, London based, been known to travel
This entry was posted in Agriculture, Documents, Domesday, Place-Names, Puttenham, Surrey. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

