Anatomy of Norbiton

There’s plenty of websites or webpages dedicated to the history of a particular village or town, suburb or district, but most are uncritical paraphrasings of the obvious reference sources, and as a result are often, well, quite boring (I appreciate the same could be said of this blog, but I shall choose to ignore that). This is certainly not a criticism I can level at Anatomy of Norbiton, ostensibly a site dedicated to the titular ‘invisible city’ on the edge of Kingston upon Thames but more like a psychogeographical exploration and contemplation of everywhere and nowhere. I can’t recommend it highly enough; it’s incredibly clever, well written and covers an ever-growing range of subjects. No disrespect to this blog (or myself…) but I can offer no higher praise than to say I wish I could have realised the idea with such panache.

Go through it in order, or just pick pages at random (I recommend the archaeological page), and get to know a place you’ve never been to in a way you never countenanced.

About Robert J S Briggs

Back to being a part-time early medievalist; Surrey born, London based, been known to travel
This entry was posted in internet. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

