Exciting email (or is the warm evening air going to my head?)

I’ve just messaged Prof Andrew Reynolds at UCL about something relevant to, but not discussed in, his and Dr Sarah Semple’s recently-published piece discussing non-funerary weapon depositions from the Anglo-Saxon period. I’m pretty excited about what I’ve sent as I believe it offers fresh perspectives on what is in itself an exciting and developing area of early-medieval archaeological and historical research. It relates to a charter boundary mark in Surrey, and is indirectly connected to the above weapon on display at the British Museum, but beyond that I’m keeping my cards close to my chest (not entirely sure why as no-one reads this blog – if you do, hi!). Depending on what Prof Reynolds says about my email I will post more about it very shortly. It’s certainly something I hope to flesh out further into a full article for publication somewhere.

Anyway, for now please consider reading the works below as they were highly influential in my thinking on the above-mentioned topic. Oh, and thanks to Electrik Bar in Chorlton for the free wi-fi, delicious millionaire slice and great Sunday night tunes that are all helping me write this.

References

Andrew Reynolds & Sarah Semple, ‘Anglo-Saxon non-funerary weapon depositions’, in Studies in Early Anglo-Saxon Art and Archaeology: Papers in Honour of Martin G. Welch, ed. by Stuart Brookes, Sue Harrington & Andrew Reynolds, BAR British Series, 527 (Oxford: BAR, 2011), 40-48

Julie Lund, ‘At the Water’s Edge’, in Signals of Belief in Early England: Anglo-Saxon Paganism Revisited, ed. by Martin Carver, Alex Sanmark & Sarah Semple (Oxford: Oxbow, 2010), 49-66

Pages 30 to 33 of Sarah Semple, ‘In the Open Air’, in Signals of Belief…, 21-48

****UPDATE**** The eagle has landed! My email has been read and replied to (in a brief but very positive fashion); unfortunately Prof Reynolds is away for the next two weeks so he has promised a more detailed response some time after his return. Fingers crossed.

About Robert J S Briggs

Back to being a part-time early medievalist; Surrey born, London based, been known to travel
This entry was posted in Anglo-Saxon, Archaeology, Charters, Ritual, Surrey. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Exciting email (or is the warm evening air going to my head?)

  1. darkageology says:

    I would be interesting to see where you got with this. Looking at a collection of non-funerary weapons deposited in Dorset at the moment…

    • Funnily enough, after over two years of next to no work on the subject, over Christmas I was able to set down in writing a vast chunk of what I wanted to say in an essay for my current MA. I had to go easy on the archaeological side of things as it was for an Old English language course, but am pretty happy with what I was able to include and conclude. Plus, I got to throw a replica Viking-age sword in order to test the reality of the reference in question (although this didn’t make the essay cut and will instead form the subject of an upcoming post here). Ping me an email to surreymedieval.blog@gmail.com and I’ll send you the essay and appendices.

      PS. Great blog – and great sounding PhD project!

Leave a Reply

